Home/ About


Ajagar Social Circle sprung up with an effort of eight like minded young practitioners with a mission to improve the livelihood of the low income segment by increasing opportunities and enriching the social, economic, educational and cultural sector of North East for a better future.

Ajagar Social Circle was rewarded as Best Youth Club in 2004, Chief Minister Best Community Action Award in 2007 and the Micro Finance Process Excellence Award in 2008. District Nodal NGO of Assam Agriculture Competitive Project. District Disaster Response & Information Centre in DC office Goalpara. The last five years it had discharged a number of activities, recounting for enrichment of peace and communal harmony; relief and rehabilitation to the victims of ethnic clashes and floods; supporting for livelihood to the poor and farmers and skilling up gradation training for entrepreneurial avenues etc.

  • 1998: 8 no. Of unemployed youth of Agia locality started coal trading for self employment but could not succeed and left away from that business
  • 1999: engaged them self in agriculture activity by cultivating HYV Paddy seed in 10 acr land at Ajagar foot hill.
  • 2000:Fully involve in Agriculture activity and gave legal entity under farming registration act with name and style of AJAGAR ASSOCIATE
  • 2001: Involve in social activities and registered under Societies’ Registration Act 1860 with name and style of AJAGAR SOCIAL CIRCLE and undertake rural development activity under DRDA, Goalpara 
  • 2002:Received first Govt. Project: Jinjiram Watershed under NWDPRA
  • 2004: Received SHG Bank linkage Programmer under NABARD & Haldidara Watershed under NWDPRA
  • 2005: Nodal NGO of Assam Agricultural Competitiveness Project (AACP)- a world Bank funded project.
  • 2007: Established MF Unit for Micro Finance operation
  • 2007: Form separate wings to provide marketing and Technical support to the farmers naming AJAGAR AGRO PRODUCER CO.LTD. With legal entity under Company Registration Act.
  • 2008: Start Micro Insurance Unit and tie up with Life Insurance Corporation of India (LIC)
  • 2009: Representative of North Eastern Finance Development Corporation Ltd (NEDFi)
  • 2010: Involve in Disaster Relief and Rehabilitation programme
  • 2011: Selected as Field NGO under RCH programme, NRHM
  • 2012: Start livelihood project under Indian Grameen Service and NABARD
  • 2013: Grant received from international Agency like Mercy Corps, Action Aid, Ford Foundation
  • 2014: involved in Education Sector by under taking education development project in Minority Communities
  • 2015: Transformation of Microfinance unit from Society to NBFC-MFI started
  • 2017: Received license from RBI as a NBFC-MFI and started operation
  • 2018: Set up a new Private Company “Ajagar Marketing Private Limited” to provide marketing support to the produces


Date of Establishment : 15th April 1998 

Date of registration : 05th September 2001

Area of Operation : State of Assam and Meghalaya

Legal Status : Registered under the Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860

Registration No. :RS/GOAL/251/B/26 of 2001-02  FCRA No. : 020760016 (Nature: Educational Social)

FCRA File No : II/21022/62(0004)/2008-FCRA-II

PAN No. : AABTA0209J 

Registered under 12A A of Income Tax Act,1961

Registration under u/s 80G

GSTN : 18 AABTA0209J1Z3

CSR Registration No. : CSR00006004


To improve the socio- economic status of underserved area in North Eastern region through increased access to institutional service and financial services for livelihood support in a sustainable manner. Ajagar Social Circle intends to offer diverse activities with exemplary community services while striving to become a people friendly institution.


To be the most respected and preferred organization of the North Eastern region with exemplary community service, by serving 75,000 underserved people by 2025


  • To ascertain community participation in agriculture through social mobilization and facilitate the modern means of cultivation for guaranteed sustainable production.
  • Convergence of all schemes to help the needy through access at micro credit and employment Generation.
  • Empower women for sustainable development.
  • To safeguard the life and property of the civilian population and also to maintain the continuity of productive and economic activity of the civilian population during natural and manmade disaster.
  • To provide quality education and foster a scientific temper within the bonds of humanism. 




Prabin Das



Hiren Kalita



Ashok Nath

Executive Member


Sadhana Singha

Executive Member


Bipul Das

Executive Member


Chaitanya Das

Executive Member


Dibakar Nath

Vice President


Mrs. Juli Sarkar

Executive Member


Mrs. Sabita Das Kalita

Executive Member






  • Registration Certificate
  • 80G Certificate
  • FCRA Certificate


Micro Finance Process Excellence Award 2008

Chief Minister Best Community Action Award 2007

Best Youth Club Award 2004

District NGO, Assam Agricultural Competitiveness Project (AACP), World Bank

Representative of North Eastern Development Finance Corporation Ltd (NEDFi)

Field NGO, Reproductive and Child Health (RCH), NRHM, Goalpara

Micro Agent, LIC (I) Micro Insurance

Member, Volunteer Action Network of India (VANI), New Delhi

Member, Centre For Micro Finance & Livelihood (CML), Guwahati, Assam

Member, Inter Agency Group (IAG- Assam)